Forums

Forums (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/index.php)
-   General compatibility fixes (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/forumdisplay.php?f=95)
-   -   DOSBox and 16 bit Windows (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=46187)

ashley 20-08-2018 07:29 AM

DOSBox and 16 bit Windows
 
I recently put together a Windows 3.11 package for DOSBox with D-Fend Reloaded. It's purpose was to run the After Dark screen savers, The Simpsons modules specifically. So I used a simple Freedos base and installed Windows for Workgroups 3.11 on top.

I've used the ET4000 SVGA which Windows 3.11 manages a 1024 * 768 256 colour display. Soundblaster 1.0 is also configured. With the exception of the aforementioned screen savers, it's an otherwise clean install.

Just wondered if anyone else might need a ready to run WFW3.11 package, the zip is under 30 MB which also includes the WFW media.

And should you wish to personalise the registration info, run WINSETUP /F from Program Manager :OK:

Smiling Spectre 20-08-2018 01:10 PM

Well, theoretically speaking, Abandonia already has such package, but as I found, it have corrupted CD-drivers (so games with CD-audio is unplayable in this set). So thank you!

Japo can you test the package and maybe replace Abandonia one?

zirkoni 20-08-2018 06:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ashley (Post 482631)
So I used a simple Freedos base and installed Windows for Workgroups 3.11 on top.

So it's a bootable HDD image? Then you lose access to DOSBox's internal commands (like mount and imgmount) and drives.



You can just install Windows 3.x directly in DOSBox, no need for a DOS installation or a HDD image. That way you can still mount CDs and floppy disks (and images) in DOSBox and access them in Windows 3.x.

Japo 20-08-2018 06:55 PM

Spectre which package do you mean? I just know about Horseman's, but as far as I know none is officially from Abandonia. I have no detailed knowledge (as myself I run Win3.x games from a virtual Win98 machine). I don't know their similarities or differences.

If it's useful, I'm happy to move this thread with it's links to the "general compatibility fixes" archive. I don't have time to check it myself...

Smiling Spectre 21-08-2018 01:35 PM

Yes, I mean Horseman version.

But... if it's _bootable_ Win3.1 it's really can give some problems in DOSBox. :|

Still can be somewhat useful. I think. For someone.


The current time is 08:19 AM (GMT)

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.