Forums

Forums (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   EcoQuest I Error 4 (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=18720)

fender178 20-01-2009 03:59 PM

EcoQuest I Error 4
 
Im currently trying to complete this game with the full 725 points but im running into a problem. (im currently at 341 of 725 points) and Im playing under dosbox 0.72. Whenever I try to enter the other apartments the game gives this error saying Oops "You did something that we werent expecting. Whatever it was you dont need to do it to finish the game. Try taking a different approach to the situation."Error 4 then it gives an Sci version number. Any Ideas on what this even means. I never gotten this error message before. Im playing the Cd-rom version of the game.

Eagle of Fire 20-01-2009 11:19 PM

Sounds like a game specific error, but I have no way to make sure. I am guessing it happen only at a specific moment in the game.

Are you sure one of your files is not corrupted or missing in some way? If you know how to save your savegames or maybe if there is a save folder then you could try reinstalling the game.

fender178 21-01-2009 03:27 AM

I tried reinstalling the game but no dice.

Eagle of Fire 21-01-2009 03:33 AM

As far as I am concerned, it might be something which was actually intended to happen. Games don't usualy have "funny" error codes when a game crash or bug...

Is it the first time you try to enter that room in the game?

The Fifth Horseman 21-01-2009 11:21 AM

Try slowing down DOSBox, I recall some mention of crashes related to game speed.

_r.u.s.s. 21-01-2009 03:11 PM

also try setting your core to full in dosbox config

fender178 21-01-2009 08:07 PM

Im running the game at 8500 cycles. No its after you help the 1st fish. When you go into help the 2nd fish or look at the other fishes in the other Apartments or even if you go south to leave the Apartments the game comes up with the error. But If you get to the part where im having issues with with missing puzzle/game points that particular part runs fine which is very odd.

_r.u.s.s. 21-01-2009 08:45 PM

i didn't mean cycles i meant core type

fender178 21-01-2009 10:53 PM

I was answering some one else's post Russ. I did try what you suggested though but no dice there. But can anyone explain why the game works at at that point in the game where you have to help the citizens in the fish apartments and you can enter any of the apartments while you are missing points like forgetting to look at the propellers on the boats at the beginning of the game? But if you are going for maximum points and the game crashes at that part not allowing you to finish the game.

Eagle of Fire 21-01-2009 11:03 PM

The only thing I could think about would be that the ripped version of the game unfortunatly left some files out of the archive. Since those files are non critical to playing the game fully then it would have been left that way.

File size and bandwith were a huge factor to consider back in the days most rip were made.


The current time is 09:40 AM (GMT)

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.