Forums

Forums (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Speed Problem With Settlers 2 (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=4298)

BetOG 07-04-2005 07:31 PM

Hi,
I downloaded Settlers 2 Gold from this page. It Works with DosBOX, but it is very slow and not very "smooth". I got win2k prof. and my DosBox Setting are:

memsize=63
frameskip=1
core=dynamic
cycles=13000

I got 2,4Ghz and all other games work fine. Got any ideas to solve the problem?


BeefontheBone 07-04-2005 08:10 PM

I'm fairly sure it's a Windows game - try compatibility modes.

BetOG 07-04-2005 08:17 PM

Without DosBOX it won't start.
want do you mean with try compatibility modes?

BeefontheBone 07-04-2005 09:07 PM

I'm not sure if the version we have here is the DOs one - if it's the windows one try right-clicking on the game executable, got to properties and compatibility tab, then try the windows 95 setting.

Rogue 08-04-2005 12:12 PM

You should be able to play it on win2k using VDMSound.

Guest 08-04-2005 03:10 PM

If i try starting it with VDM sound I get the error:

OUTER MAIN LOOP ERROR: No VESA-Driver found!!

Rogue 08-04-2005 03:39 PM

Start config first, and see if you can configure the game. Then start the game.

Holy Swede 20-04-2005 09:51 AM

Does anyone know how to make Settlers 2: Gold Edition run on windows XP. I tried DosBox but it is too slow. I can enter the game but the window keeps on scrolling down in a looped fashion. :blink: The compatability settings also don't work. I was also wondering if it would be possible to have two operating systems on your computer. One being XP and the other DOS. I have no idea if this is possible because I have never used dos before.

Thanks

Eagle of Fire 20-04-2005 08:26 PM

I never encountered an error playing Settler 2 with VDMSound. That's what you should try next.

Guest 29-05-2005 07:55 AM

I can't start Settlers 2 with VDMSound.

It keeps telling me this error:
OUTER MAIN LOOP ERROR: No VESA-Driver found!!

I enabled basic VESA support in the configuration, but this does not work.

Oh and i get this COM2 error, but this does not seem to be a bigger problem

I use win2k.

Any suggestions?


If i run it in DOSBox it crashes from time to time. If anyone has a solution to this I would be satisfied :D


The current time is 11:26 AM (GMT)

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.