Forums

Forums (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Wizardry 7 - Unable To Open Scenario.hdr (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=2043)

Fool 30-12-2004 10:43 PM

I've tried to play Wizardry 7 and have done the following so far:

1. mounted the WIZARDRY cd as drive g:
2. run install.exe from msdos
3. mounted drive g in dosbox
4. tried to run wizardry.bat in dosbox

But, I get the error message
"unable to open scenario.hdr"

I believe that it may have something to do with the files being read-only. However, when I try to change that, it prompts access is denied.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

FreeFreddy 31-12-2004 09:14 AM

Actually, it's easy (when you know how to do it :bleh:):
Skip step 1 and 3 if you have that already.
1. Get Daemon Tools from our site. Install the program, restart your PC.
2. Right-click on the Daemon Tools-icon in the left quick-start area in Windows. Mount the Wizardry-file as a drive (no matter what letter, let's say G: in this case).
3. Get DosBox from the same place you got Daemon Tools from. Install it.
4. Now run the following commands in DosBox when you start it:
mount d g:/ -t cdrom
mount c c:/
d:

install.exe d (this will create a folder on the c: drive called WIZ-CD and copy some needed files to it, this drive will be then automatically remounted in DosBox, you NEED to do it the first time only)
cd w7
vinstall.exe
(to configure the sound / music, display can be left as VGA, etc.)
wizardry.bat

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOTE: These steps must be repeated every time you start DosBox, except install.exe d and vinstall.exe. As the needed files will be installed already the next time you want to play the game, run the steps in that row instead:
mount d g:/ -t cdrom
mount c c:/
cd c:/wiz-cd/7
d:
cd w7
wizardry.bat


As for vinstall.exe, in order for the options to be saved permanently, run it in Windows instead, not DosBox and set to the needed options. Save them, and every time you run DosBox, the options will be already there.

5. In order to save you the work, open the file dosbox.conf and at the last line where following is written:
[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.

add the second time steps under it. They will then be run every time you start DosBox automatically. Have fun with the game yet! :ok:

BLOODUK 31-12-2004 11:32 AM

What about saving ingame?

FreeFreddy 31-12-2004 11:55 AM

In the main menu, go to configurations and enter in the "path"entry above the savegame exactly the letter C:\ (or /, doesn't matter). The game will then be saved in the directory c:\wiz-cd\7. Just press ENTER when the game asks to "insert the disc in the drive c:/". ;)

BLOODUK 31-12-2004 12:09 PM

Hey it worked, THANKS ALOT!

Only pain in the rear is having to enter password on everygame restart

Guest 31-12-2004 12:45 PM

Thank you very much FreeFreddy.

FreeFreddy 31-12-2004 12:52 PM

You're welcome. Have fun with the game yet. :ok:

BLOODUK 31-12-2004 01:15 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by FreeFreddy@Dec 31 2004, 01:52 PM
You're welcome. Have fun with the game yet. :ok:
Im trying to but it doesnt have a chance with eye of the beholder, i dont like NOT seeing the monsters till the appear :ph34r:

Lurid 02-02-2005 05:34 PM

I've follwed these steps exactly,
I am very interested in exploring DOS,
but it is frustrating when everything goes smoothly up to a point.

Why is "Install.exe" an illegal command???

Guest 02-02-2005 11:21 PM

Hey... I used to own crusaders many years ago... but don't have the manual any more. Is there any way to bypass the "security clearance" feature of the game?


The current time is 07:06 PM (GMT)

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.