PDA

View Full Version : Java/html - Two Questions ...


swiss
09-02-2006, 01:33 PM
Hey guys,

I need two scripts for a homepage I am currently changing. It is completely based on Perl, PHP, JavaScript and HTML. There is nothing I can change about the base-scripting...

1.
I want to have a dynamic "hint of the day"-thingy. Everytime the page is loaded (or reloaded) another hint should appear on the page. The hints could probably be stored in a CSV-File and the HTML Code must include something like "pic a random hint and display it on the page". Can anyone help me with that ? I would be probably enough to know how to generate a random number between 1 and 30 in PHP or alike and how to read item number *whatever* of the CSV-File.


2.
I have a dynamically generated page with a radiobutton called "_lowres vakue=0" and another called "_lowres value=1 checked". Now I need a script or something that can be put beneath the dynamic call that changes the property of button 1 to checked and button 2 to - well - nothing. Like this:

Current page:
<input type=radio name=_lowres value=0>Layoutbild

<input type=radio name=_lowres value=1 checked>Feinbild


That's what I want it to be:
<input type=radio name=_lowres value=0 checked >Layoutbild

<input type=radio name=_lowres value=1>Feinbild


is there a call like "set property of button "_lowres value=0" to checked" (that's how it would work with AppleScript ....

Thank a lot in advance!!!!!

Cheers,
:cheers:

swiss

Mara
09-02-2006, 01:40 PM
to change to property of a buton -> Java script.

try something like

GetElementById('ButonName').value= wathever you want to change the value to.

I'm not sure about the prober syntax, so google for it ;)

Rogue
09-02-2006, 02:33 PM
Both of those things should be done with java scripts.

Long time ago I coded something simillar to hint thing. It sould be simple to code.

plix
09-02-2006, 03:11 PM
Regardless of the style of the file, you'll want to end up with an array of hints. Then it's as simple as
$array[mt_rand(0,count($array))];
(mt_rand() is better than the old rand(), but the latter would still work).

For your second problem Mara's suggestion isn't quite right. If you wish to use the DOM (as that example does, though it precludes older browsers), then what you want is actually more along the lines of
document.getElementById('id_attribute_value_of_the _radio_button').checked = true
though this would require that you set a unique ID for each of the radio buttons. I'll leave the actual placement of that statement as an excercise for the reader.

Eagle of Fire
09-02-2006, 08:21 PM
Java and flash are evil. I always have them disabled by default, and I enable java only on trusted sites. I never enable flash, so I never visit sites with flash animations.

Kon-Tiki
09-02-2006, 09:03 PM
They're not evil, just misused most of the time. Especially in Flash-banners. Those Crazy Frog flashbanners that start to go ARRRRRRRRRRRINGGGGGGDINGGGGDINNGGGGDINGGGDONGGGGGD ONNNGGGDONNNNNNGGGDOONNGGGGGGGG etc the moment the tip of your mouse goes over it, are a pain in the behind, especially when you're listening to music. They just won't stop. I've had them go on even after closing the page :blink: There's also a Flash-banner 'bout smilies, that yells "SAY SOMETHIN'" whenever you hover over it. Big pain in the behind as well. Flash's also a pain if it's used for bad design, but you can make awesome things for it, and it can be used for great stuff. Same goes for Java, but that's simply not as much something for on the 'net.

plix
09-02-2006, 09:33 PM
He, however, was asking a question about JavaScript (aka EMCAScript) which is not at all like Java and quite a bit different from Flash.

swiss
11-02-2006, 07:55 AM
the random quote thing is solved. I got aPHP script. that's enough for the moment.

I am just wondering about this:

document.getElementById('id_attribute_value_of_the _radio_button').checked = true

The buttons name is used twice: _lowres value=0 and _lowres value=1

so is there a chance for me ?

sorry for all these n00b questions

Mara
11-02-2006, 09:57 AM
two buttons = two names (unless they are radio buttons in a "one choise only" case )

swiss
11-02-2006, 03:57 PM
Originally posted by Mara@Feb 11 2006, 11:57 AM
two buttons = two names (unless they are radio buttons in a "one choise only" case )
it is exactly like that ....

can't I make a Script telling the browser to do "tab, tab, tab, spacebar" ? that would result in the same thing ...

plix
12-02-2006, 03:28 AM
No, read it again. ID ATTRIBUTE, not the name attribute. Radio buttons are grouped by name, but all elements can optionally have an id attribute which is required to be unique. Hence the name of the DOM method being getElementById().

swiss
12-02-2006, 09:25 AM
they just have names and values - but no ID I fear ....

Mara
12-02-2006, 10:57 AM
document.getElementsByTagName('name')

that does the trick ;)

you can add an id, not it's nessesary. but giving a name to your buton is. (see w3c )
You can't read the value without a name anyway.