PDA

View Full Version : Weird Links...


Tulac
13-04-2005, 05:18 PM
Ok I don't understand what's going on, but everywhere on the web when some words come up they are double underlined and lead a link to nowhere like on the next picture is a post from an abandonian, if I would click on that word(classic movies (classic%20movies)'; return true;" onmouseout="window.status=''; return true;">classic movies</a>'; return true;" onmouseout="window.status=''; return true;">classic movies</a>) it would lead me to a link which would be named like www.abandonia.com/classic%20movies , ofcourse it doesn't exist...
This doesn't appear just on the forums, but pretty much everywhere where there is text, and with some words like star wars (star%20wars)'; return true;" onmouseout="window.status=''; return true;">star wars</a>'; return true;" onmouseout="window.status=''; return true;">star wars</a>, good guys (good%20guys)'; return true;" onmouseout="window.status=''; return true;">good guys</a>'; return true;" onmouseout="window.status=''; return true;">good guys</a>...
I really don'te get it...

EDIT: It's even underlined in this post...
EDIT2: OK what's this now, my whole post is messed up what's the problem?? :cry:

Tulac
13-04-2005, 05:22 PM
It looks like when I edit my post word like star wars gets surrounded with these html tags, this is some weird stuff...

Rogue
13-04-2005, 05:25 PM
Simple answer: Ads and spy-software.

Download Ad-Aware and SpyBot, install them, download latest updates and search your computer.

I had the same problem when I used FlashGet download manager and Messenger Plus!

Tulac
13-04-2005, 05:28 PM
Well I ran Spybot S&D, it found a little spyware, but it didn't solve the problem, I'll try to update it though...

Rogue
13-04-2005, 05:54 PM
Get AdAware too, as two tools will not hurt the system.

What programs you have running at the time you notice those links?

Tulac
13-04-2005, 05:58 PM
Today when I visited Abandonia(but on the others too), yesterday my firewall was constantly asking for LMU.exe, even if I clicked no, so my sister probably clicked yes, I think that's the source of my problems...

I'm running MYIE2, Zonealarm Pro firewall, MSN, Miranda IM, and Symantec corporate antivirus...

Rogue
13-04-2005, 06:07 PM
What is MYIE2?

Open zonealarm, go to program tab, find that program and disable it's access.

DeathDude
13-04-2005, 07:09 PM
I'll add for programs to add

Webroot's Spyware Sweeper, runs on 30 day trial, but you can update and remove and such another worthy product.
Spyware Doctor, haven't been able to get it to work on my system, but have heard good things about the program.

Spywareblaster 3.3 stop spyware from getting into your computer in the first place.

You can get all these programs from either www.majorgeeks.com or www.download.com

Dino
13-04-2005, 07:14 PM
Other, maybe even better anti-spyware is Counterspy (http://www.sunbelt-software.com/CounterSpy.cfm) and Microsoft Antispyware (http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/spyware/software/default.mspx).

These are both great programs, I use them along with before-mentioned Spybot and Adaware, that makes 4 anti-spyware programs... And I have 2 firewalls, Sygate Personal Firewall and Bit Defender firewall. I protected myself pretty good, don't you think... :D

konfliktPL
13-04-2005, 07:23 PM
1. Install some good antivirus (kaspersky?) and firewall (kerio? outpost?).
2. Update antivirus' datababes. Perform a full scan.
3. Install antispyware (apart from Your Spybot, which is good, download ad-aware se). Update them - scan.
4. Download critical patches from Windows Update (I reckon You have Windows OS?).
5. Show us Your log from hijackthis. www.hijackthis.de

And last but definitely not least - change Your 'web browser'. I put it in inverted commas, because MYIE runs on IE's engine so it cannot be called a web browser. I recommend Firefox (or Opera?).
Regards.

DeathDude
13-04-2005, 07:37 PM
OvErLoRd Posted on Apr 13 2005, 01:14 PM
* Other, maybe even better anti-spyware is Counterspy and Microsoft Antispyware.

These are both great programs, I use them along with before-mentioned Spybot and Adaware, that makes 4 anti-spyware programs... And I have 2 firewalls, Sygate Personal Firewall and Bit Defender firewall. I protected myself pretty good, don't you think...

Hopefully your not running those two firewalls at the same time, cause there is just bound to be conflicts happening, not a good idea to run two especially at the same time.

Yeah I would also recommend Kerio 2.15, good version to use for a firewall as the 4x versions, still are being tweaked and not really receiveing much praise from the security forum communitites.

Rogue
14-04-2005, 12:17 PM
Another nice way to double your firewall is to get an old computer and install two network cards in to it, then install IPCop (http://ipcop.org/) or SmoothWall (http://www.smoothwall.org/). This is much better then running firewall on your computer, as attacks will not even reach your LAN network.

Ohh, yes, you have to have some sort of LAN to have this. ;)

Also, check your HOSTS file!

Caged
14-04-2005, 03:27 PM
By using Spyware doctor, you can scan your hosts file for bad entries as well as dangerous ones. Then, once scanned and cleaned, load Spybot S&D.

Go into the advanced tools and click Hosts File. It will bring up a list of addresses and at the top a button to add them to your host file. This is a highly recommended action as it safeguards your host file from malicious attacks. There is also an option I belive in Adaware or Spybot where you can LOCK your host file which will also protect it.

Now, none of the programs will completely 100% protect you from bugs. However, my rule of thumb is the more programs I have, the more trouble hackers, bots, ect will have getting in and therefore will keep more out. :ok:

Tulac
15-04-2005, 05:24 PM
I've got all the protection don't worry, I got into safe mode and removed it manually, now it's ok...(me stupid, me needs to update his antivirus more often)

Rogue
15-04-2005, 05:45 PM
And what it was?

Tulac
16-04-2005, 05:41 PM
Some kind of hijacker...

DeathDude
16-04-2005, 06:50 PM
A those are a bummer indeed, glad to hear you fixed the problem though.

Tulac
16-04-2005, 08:58 PM
The only problem is I don't know how I got it, I really didn't visit any pr0n or warez...
Just abandonia and a couple of other 'certified' sites...