PDA

View Full Version : Step by step ISO Mounting instructions?

Red Fortress
26-03-2011, 01:14 PM
I'm totally new to this, have never :headslap: mounted any ISO before.
From what I can gather from this forum Dos games (Anvil of Doom & Albion), can be mounted using Dosbox.

While the newer games (Dune 2000 & Shadow Man) need another mounting software (most of you seem to recommend Virtual CloneDrive).

Also I need a good unpacker, you seem to recommend the use RAR.

How ever that is the extent of my knowledge:
When I try to Download a game listed the cellar I get a list of files, what do I actually do with those files.
They usually include the following at minimum:

a file with the .nfo extension.
a bunch of files with .r plus a number (01,02,03...) extension.
a RAR file.
and a file with the .sfv extension.

sometimes they also include a bunch of other files variously :unsure: named:
Fix
Crack
exe
covers
scans
Etc: Mostly in rar or zip format.

I'm completely lost, Im thinking that the first :mhh: bunch (.nfo,.r01,.r02...) is the actual ISO and the rest are add-ons and patches?
How ever I have no idea what to do any of the files to actually get a working game, or even how I should go about :oh: mounting them.

Can some one please give a :) comprehensive tutorial on what to do.

The Fifth Horseman
26-03-2011, 03:44 PM
From what I can gather from this forum Dos games (Anvil of Doom & Albion), can be mounted using Dosbox.Yes.
While the newer games (Dune 2000 & Shadow Man) need another mounting software (most of you seem to recommend Virtual CloneDrive).Yes. That or Daemon Tools Lite, whichever suits your fancy.
a file with the .nfo extension.
NFO is a regular text file, openable with Notepad. It stands for "info".
a bunch of files with .r plus a number (01,02,03...) extension.