PDA

View Full Version : Settlers and UFO problems...


Anonymous
31-05-2004, 10:02 AM
When try to play Settlers II Gold and UFO - Enemy Unknown, I experience a very annoying problem. :?

In settlers, I only get to see the main menu. If I try to start the game, the screen totally screws up and becomes a mix of many colors and lines. I can still hear sound, though. All I can do is press Alt-tab and go back to windows.

As for UFO, which I really would like to play, there is a somewhat similar problem. It's impossible for me to play any missions, because after I flew my crew over and press the "OK" button, I get thrown back into windows.

I were overjoyed when I found these games, please help me get them to work.

Thanks. :)

Omuletzu
31-05-2004, 11:49 AM
I bet that if you boot to DOS they would work.

Anonymous
31-05-2004, 11:58 AM
Um..yeah...that's may be, but I'm not very proficient with DOS...
The name of the UFO folder, for example, is UFO-EN(some weird little thing)1. How do I make that little thing? Maybe I'm just stupid now...but like I said, I'm not into DOS... :oops:

Omuletzu
31-05-2004, 12:04 PM
Are you referring to " ~ " ?

~ = Shift + Console key(under Esc key, above Tab key)

Tom Henrik
31-05-2004, 12:05 PM
The reason for that is simple.
The folders name is to big for Dos. Just name the directory UFO instead of UFO-Enemy Unknown.

Anonymous
31-05-2004, 01:02 PM
I just found out that UFO can't be run from DOS. I also tried to shut down all the programs I had running in the background, but the problem didn't go away.

Maybe I'll try to run the game on a different computer...

Omuletzu
31-05-2004, 01:35 PM
Try running Settlers II from DOS.It does work in Dos because i played it in dos.

Die Windows :terror:

Anonymous
31-05-2004, 03:01 PM
Yeah, I just found out, settlers works like a charm in DOS. :D

But...there is no sound, and I can't seem to get setup to detect my audio card. I can't detect it manually either, and I've tried every solution there is.

All these DOS-games sure are a lot of work... :cry:

FreeFreddy
31-05-2004, 03:35 PM
Hey, try playing them in DosBox, you also will need VDMsound for playing them with sound. DosBox you can get here on this main site, VDMsound here: http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=1226

Anonymous
01-06-2004, 01:02 PM
Yeah, now I downloaded DOSbox. I've tried to make sense of it, I've read almost every guide I could find, but I'm just not capable of understanding DOSBox.

"mount C C:\UFO"
"C:"
"cd UFO"

This is what the newbie guide says, but my DOSBox is unable to change to UFO...some help? Please? :oops:

Kosta
01-06-2004, 01:55 PM
If you have mounted the directory c:\ufo as your C drive in dosbox, you just need to call the exe file after changing to c: :)

FreeFreddy
01-06-2004, 02:20 PM
\"mount C C:\UFO\"
\"C:\"
\"cd UFO\"

This is what the newbie guide says, but my DOSBox is unable to change to UFO...some help? Please? *:oops:

That way this is right:
1. mount C C:/UFO (folder UFO is now C)
2. C:
3. UFO.EXE (or similar executable)