PDA

View Full Version : New Forum User, Long-time Web Visitor...

Dry Mango
16-05-2010, 08:24 AM
Hello everyone.

I am unfamiliar with these forums, but very familiar with the main website. As with most of you, DOS games played a big role in my childhood and many of them today give me a big wave of nostalgia.

While I never truly lost interest in video games, I simply don't give today's games the same amount of respect as I do with the older ones. I am very fortunate to have stumbled here in the first place, because I know a fair amount of video gamers who have never heard of DOS games, let alone work the DOS commands.

One of the few modern games left that I play on a regular basis is Runescape, a MMORPG. Because I was fascinated with the way RPGs were made in the early 1990s, Runescape helped me discover that magic feeling. I started playing in 2003 and have taken many breaks since. I am always looking forward to such games as Runescape and World of Warcraft for new content, new areas to explore, and new talents.

Sadly, I have a history of causing trouble when it comes to the community forums. Online communities were never something I highly regarded as being respectful, and I have met my share of idiots, trolls, and foul-talking gimps. As a former fan of Sonic the Hedgehog, I joined up on many Sonic boards to see how people felt about the franchise. I ended up getting myself tangled in flame debate, calling people idiots, and getting banned for being a nuisance. Another site, Retrojunk, I also ran into trouble. They ran a few user based boards where they were there solely to humiliate others. So, like some of the Sonic boards, I ended up getting banned because of clash of opinion.