PDA

View Full Version : Question about running Conqueror 1086 on dosbox

Xzorsh
18-04-2010, 12:07 AM
Hello. I was reading an old thread on running Conqueror 1086, and I've followed the advice on setting up on mounting a virtual drive and creating an ISO, and yet when I run it, I still get an error message saying "Not enough memory to load gob or file not found. Aborting."

Does anyone know what that means or how to work around it?

Thanks. :)

_r.u.s.s.
18-04-2010, 01:41 AM
well, if you say that you've done everything correctly and it doesn't work it's difficult to even try to help

write where is your image located, where you tried to install it, your mount lines, etc..

Xzorsh
18-04-2010, 09:32 PM
well, if you say that you've done everything correctly and it doesn't work it's difficult to even try to help

write where is your image located, where you tried to install it, your mount lines, etc..

Sorry.

For starters, I confess I'm a newb when it comes to both DosBox and ISOs, so I apologize if I've done anything that seems stupid.

Alright let's start from the beginning:

I install Conqueror, have trouble installing it (I get a divide by zero error when I try to test the hard drive, so I skipped the step), and then when it does install it doesn't load. Or at the very least it starts playing music but displays a black screen.

So I try VDMsound which makes the problem even worse. I then decide to give DosBox a try.

I then read this tutorial and mirrored it for my own situation. http://www.classicdosgames.com/tutorials/dosbox.html

I went through the whole process of mounting a drive that has the location of my game, and I still would not be able to run it due to the "not enough gob memory" error.

I then read a thread on this forum about ISOs for Conqueror, and surmised that I needed an ISO.

So here's the final steps I carried out:

The Conqueror ISO is located in my D drive, under DOSgames.

So this would be the location in windows: D:\DOSgames