PDA

View Full Version : Prisoner Of Ice...


The Fifth Horseman
21-12-2004, 10:43 AM
Okay, so I got a legal full-CD copy over a year ago. It did not work on my old PC and on the new it does not work either.

First the game kept displaying that it cannot find "smackw32.dll" file. I have Smacker drivers, allright. So after putting that file in the Windows and Windows/system directories, the only effect was that the error message changed to "missing export in smackw32.dll - smack_buffer_blit".

Please help me, I want to play this game and the other copy I got from HOTU is broken...

:cry: :cry: :cry:

The Niles
21-12-2004, 03:15 PM
Obvious question here, have you tried DOSBox? I got my copy working in both Win95 and Win98 but that was ages ago and did not require any tampering.

The Fifth Horseman
22-12-2004, 11:43 AM
The old system I was trying to run it on WAS actually W95. Under DOS it only displayed "this game must be run under Microsoft Windows". As for the Smacker DLL file, I tried about three or four different versions, including ones that DID work for other games.

And a few months back, I tried to run it on W98, with the same result. And yes, tried all the versions of Smacker file I've got.

Now that I have a brand new piece of hardware, and WXP, guess what, entire thing repeats.

Fawfulhasfury
22-12-2004, 09:57 PM
I got my HOTU copy working back when I had it. Are you sure you can't get it working with DOSBOX? Unfortunately, a blue screen of death took permanent care of my version of POI. I hope you get yours running ok.

The Fifth Horseman
28-12-2004, 08:48 AM
Nope. The HOTU version when ran on DosBox does suffer the same thing as when run from XP. Crash after the Captain gets caught by the monster. Tried half dozen times, and it's all the same.

marko river
28-12-2004, 12:03 PM
That's true. I figured that it crashes because game tries to autosave. There is problem with directories. Tried various stuff but unsuccessful. Can't save, so game crashes when monster get the captain.

Rogue
28-12-2004, 05:03 PM
I am downloading ISO of this game (about 42% done), and I'll try it later. It's about 200MB.

Fixed :D

Fawfulhasfury
28-12-2004, 05:04 PM
Don't you mean MBs. The version from coming on the site is only 78MBs. Hmm. The french version crashes too.

Rogue
28-12-2004, 05:09 PM
Originally posted by Fawfulhasfury@Dec 28 2004, 01:04 PM
Don't you mean MBs. The version from coming on the site is only 78MBs. Hmm. The french version crashes too.
You tried french version? :blink:

Fawfulhasfury
28-12-2004, 05:15 PM
Yep. It's on abandonware-french. It crashes after the captain too. Trying something though that I think might work. :D

Rogue
28-12-2004, 05:21 PM
Are you talking about French Kiss Abandonware? I think that they have english version of game. :D

Fawfulhasfury
28-12-2004, 05:22 PM
Nope. The text is in french. They have no english version there.

Rogue
28-12-2004, 05:29 PM
Try to edit permissions on the save game folder. Remove read only, and add everyone if you using advanced security settings in WinXP.

Fawfulhasfury
28-12-2004, 05:36 PM
how do you do that??
pm it to me
can't wait to play this game. :D

Rogue
28-12-2004, 05:48 PM
You'll have to wait till I get home, as I can't do it here (work). :blink:

Fawfulhasfury
28-12-2004, 05:53 PM
ok, thanks

Rogue
29-12-2004, 02:36 AM
Use VDMSound with this game, select custom configuration, click next.

On the next screen select 'create a new configuration from the scratch', click next.

Click button 'Advanced...'

Select 'Compatibility' tab and check box 'Enable low level CD-Rom support' (MSCDEX).

And that should do it. (If you created ISO, like I did, then you can't save this configuration, but you can create shortcut on the desktop)

In the first 3 minutes of play, I had to reload saved game 3 times. A bit hard game. (that monsters are killing me :blink: :angry: )

I'll try also DOSBox later.

Fawfulhasfury
29-12-2004, 02:01 PM
thanks :D

Rogue
29-12-2004, 05:20 PM
Your welcome.

Does it work?

The Fifth Horseman
30-12-2004, 08:55 AM
Don't have time ATM, too busy reviewing Castlevania.

DonCorleone
16-01-2005, 07:48 PM
Hi there,

I also downloaded POI from Hotu. I followed the Instructions to get it started under dosbox. So I emulated a virtual cdrom drive. So far so good. But when I start the .exe file I get an error message that E_Klang.kro wasnīt readable.
Whatīs wrong about it?

Guest
17-01-2005, 02:57 PM
or does sombody know about a working version on the web?

DonCorleone
20-01-2005, 01:39 PM
Doesnīt anybody got a hint for me???

Eagle of Fire
20-01-2005, 01:56 PM
Do not think we are ignoring you Don... Unfortunatly I am really not into the adventure genre, and I have no idea of what is causing your problem... :(

Rogue
20-01-2005, 02:04 PM
DonCorleone use VDMSound! Make changes I mentioned above and should work! (also should work better then DOSBox)

The Fifth Horseman
20-01-2005, 02:47 PM
Will give it a go.

Rogue
20-01-2005, 02:49 PM
Originally posted by the_fifth_horseman@Jan 20 2005, 10:47 AM
Will give it a go.
That was you? :blink: :)

DonCorleone
20-01-2005, 02:55 PM
Hmm, on the one hand I have should done that before. But on the other I wouldnīt be cleverer as I am right now. What I want to say is that it doesnīt nwork this way, either. I created an iso, ran it with vdm and it crashed. Without creating an iso it starts. But thereīs no sound and no video... is it possible that my cd-rip is damaged?
Or is there something wrong with my computer???

My system: AMD DURON 750
128MB
WinXP
???

By the way: thx so far :)

Data
20-01-2005, 03:11 PM
hmm it seems we are turning in a support forum for HoTu now that their forum is down.

DonCorleone
20-01-2005, 03:25 PM
Sry, but the thread was already there and I thought it was OK. But never mind... it doesnīt matter anyway!

Rogue
20-01-2005, 03:50 PM
I see no reason to be sorry, as some people ask for help for the games that are not on the site.

I am at work, and unable to check it. If I'm remembering it right, this game was no in ISO ISO format. It was just a zip of files from the CD. Extract zip to folder and use VDMSound's advanced option as I did up there. It should work.

(what file are you trying to run?)

The Fifth Horseman
20-01-2005, 04:09 PM
That was you?
No. But your answer might help me as well.

DonCorleone
21-01-2005, 04:12 PM
Sadly it doesnīt work at all yet. I unzipped the file again. But itīs the same problem as before. No sound and no video, although I use VDM.
When I try to change setting under sound options the game freezes... probably my computer is down. I donīt see any reason why it doesnīt work this way???
P.S.: I think I run the ice640.exe...

Rogue
21-01-2005, 05:20 PM
Can you be more specific about it? What option screen you have problem with? (VDMS or game)

Which file are you trying to run?

DonCorleone
21-01-2005, 08:08 PM
Iīm trying to run the "ice640.exe". And I got problems with the games option menu. However, I think that is because I try to use the sound buttons although I know that I donīt have sound :)

Rogue
21-01-2005, 08:17 PM
I assume that you have VDMSound installed and it works with other games.

If yes, just right click on ice640.exe and select run with VDMSound. Do changes I did above and should work.


have you used VDMSOund prior to this?

DonCorleone
21-01-2005, 08:26 PM
Yes, I have. But changed from win2k to xp. And itīs a long time ago I used it the last time. I think there must be something weong either with my system or with the cd-rip. Since I manage all the stuff you mentioned above, I really donīt see any reason why I got thes probs.
I chose : "custom configuration" after that "configuration from scratch" and finally I activated "cd-rom-support"

Rogue
21-01-2005, 08:30 PM
Try any other games from abandonia with VDMSound. If it does not work, reinstall it.

I will try tonight or tomorrow to run this game in DOSBox. I naver had enough time to do it, and I would like to see why it did not work first time I tried it.

DonCorleone
21-01-2005, 08:40 PM
Callahanīs doesnīt want to play sound with vdm either, so I think I will reinstall VDM...letīs have a look. THX for your help so far!

DonCorleone
21-01-2005, 09:32 PM
Shadow of the Comet works fine. But there are other programs that doesnīt work with vdm. But fact is: my VDM seems to work with proper programs

Rogue
22-01-2005, 06:21 AM
Well, I found the problem.

After I downloaded POI, I created ISO out of it. Do this by using UltraISO (http://www.tucows.com/preview/306129.html). Then run game from that ISO (mount iso with Daemon Tools), and first it will tell you that game will create save folder, and next you will have to select sound settings.

If you have any problems, let me know.

ps. UltraISO trial will work for everything up to 300MB.

DonCorleone
22-01-2005, 08:20 PM
Ok, so far so good. I created another iso-file. mounted it with daemon-tools; after that I mounted a cdrom in dosbox. But all that I get is a blank screen. If I just start it under XP, the program crashes. I think it would be a good idea to download prisoner for a second time...
Before that i will try to create another iso ;)

DonCorleone
22-01-2005, 08:26 PM
:( ...same happens with new iso. Tried to start it with VDM this but with a similar effect. So I will download PoI again... hope this will solve the problem.

Rogue
23-01-2005, 06:13 AM
It should.

I just downloaded it yeasterday again, just to make sure if it works.

After I created ISO and mounted it, I started it with VDMSound and it works after you make changes in advanced setup.

DonCorleone
23-01-2005, 08:58 AM
:not_ok: Ok, I downloaded again and now have to realize that the files must have been all right.
I donīt know what it is. But it must have something to do with my system. There is no other answer to the problem I think. Now I get - only very short, so that I canīt read - a red error message before the screen keeps beeing blank. Didnīt try it with dosbox yet.

Just to get sure: would you mind to list the content of the folder "prisoner" in here. There still is a tiny possibility... ;)

Rogue
23-01-2005, 07:06 PM
here it is...

DonCorleone
23-01-2005, 10:51 PM
Now thatīs interesitng I think. My folder looks rather different:

E_video
saves
_ice_.par
cdemu2.com
e_klang.bin
e_klang.kro
ice640.exe
ksound_kro
ksvga.kro
readme.txt

Thereīs nothing more. Think I have to check if I unpacked properly. Otherwise I donīt know what went wrong. Thereīs a self-extracting file, isnīt it? And it should unpack anything...Maybe I skipped an important step... If you know what it is, please let me know ;)
You downloaded the file at Hotuīs, didnīt you? I unpacked the rip for several times by now and it always looked as above. So thereīs no need to riddle about it anymore. Somethingīs missing. But how to solve the problem?
There isnīt the opportunity that I have been banned at Hotuīs, I think, since I download there only one file at once.

Rogue
24-01-2005, 12:07 AM
How big is your archive?

Mine is 74.4MB and it is downloaded from HOTU and I am not using torrent.

Also, I am unpacking archive with WinRAR.

DonCorleone
24-01-2005, 12:31 PM
Thatīs strange: mine is 76,3 MB big. I didnīt use torrent either. But it takes nearly three hours get from their server although I use DSL. And I canīt use a decompressing program such as WinRar īcause there is a self-extracting one. When I open one of the .rar files they donīt seem to content anything... :crazy:

So we share the opinion that my folder is somehow broken?

Rogue
24-01-2005, 12:48 PM
I guess so.

I wonder if admins are interested to host ISO of the game on the site here.

DonCorleone
24-01-2005, 12:55 PM
Maybe that would be great idea. Since there is already the first one of the game up here that really would make sense :)

DonCorleone
24-01-2005, 07:33 PM
Does anyone if a downloadīs quality is influenced by the browser oneīs using?

Rogue
24-01-2005, 07:35 PM
It should not. Are you using eMule?

DonCorleone
24-01-2005, 07:39 PM
Uhm, I did a while ago. But now that Iīm using a W-lan router I didnīt figure out how to get HighID. So for the moment I donīt use it. But probably it would be a possible solution of my prob, wouldnīt it? ;)
MY browser is firefox. And the download broke up several times (without a ban). So I concluded that it might have somethimg to do with my browser....

ktulu
07-02-2005, 11:14 PM
Hi, I'm fairly new to the forums (this being my first post :) ) but i've searched through theese forums as a guest for some time. To cut the long thing short, I'm somewhat of Lovecraft fan (just look at my nick, wohoo! :) ). Anyway, after a long search, i got Prisoner of Ice from this polish site http://staregry.gry-online.pl
The game is 200 MBs heavy and it seems that it's a CD-RIP (it's a RAR). I'm having problems with crashing at the "tentacle-snatch-captain" scene. It shows this message:

Fatal Error --> ERROR TYPE : FILE-02 : 'TEST' (refer to manual)

So I looked into the manual, the error type : File-02 means:
FILE-02: Cannot create a file
Your hard disk is either full or damaged.
Refer to your DOS manual to repair the error.

It's clear the game has trouble with writing on the "real" output dir.
The even more interesting thing is that the config dir in the manual is stated as C:\IMOTION\ICE and the game makes a dir C:\POI. What's up with this? Now the thing that bugs me is the 'TEST' part. It seems as though the game asks or writes a TEST dir or file. Don't really get it but there are no dirs/files by that name in my RAR.
When I try to mount the game dir as a CD or some other driveletter in DosBox I get the similar message but it asks for the file: __ICE__.PCK
The file's there but the game doesn't recognise it? It seems as though the game thinks it's in a different dir than it is (maybe \IMOTION\ICE). I had a similar problem with the SOTC Museum ( a ripped version of it). Didn't manage to run it either, but works in plain DOS. It also had a path: \IMOTION\COMET or something like that in its config files. I'm really confused here...

Anyway, thanx :). Sorry for posting so big on my first post, it's rude but i'm a little pissed with this whole thing... :)

methuselah
25-10-2008, 02:39 PM
This post is intended specifically for users of DOSBox 0.72 for Linux, who want to run the game, "Prisoner of Ice"; either the full, commercially-distributed CD (which I have, $4.69 total cost on eBay) or the CD-rip version, available on many abandonware sites, including this one. The game runs best if all game files are copied to hard disk, then using the created directory and its subdirectories as an emulated CD drive. That is how I chose to do it, and the game's performance and playability is actually better than when I first ran it on my AST 486DX2-66 MHz machine.

1. The directory is mounted as my C drive in DOSBox by typing:

mount c /home/myuserID/msdos/

2. The "Prisoner of Ice" game-files directory is found at:

/home/myuserID/msdos/prisoner/

and under the
directory are three subdirectories, named as they are found on the game CD. They are:

/home/myuserID/msdos/prisoner/savesvga/
/home/myuserID/msdos/prisoner/savevga/
/home/myuserID/msdos/prisoner/video/

Copy game files on the CD to the corresponding directory and subdirectories on hard disk. The file <__ICE__.PAR>should read as follows:

LANGUAGE_LETTER=A
OPTIONS_PATH=c:\imotion\ice

Edit the file, if it does not. For my installation, no changes were needed.

3. To mount the D drive, as an emulated CD drive, in DOSBox I type:

mount d /home/myuserID/msdos/prisoner/ -t cdrom

So, once DOSBox has started, I type:

mount c /home/myuserID/msdos/ <enter>
mount d /home/myuserID/msdos/prisoner/ -t cdrom <enter>

This process of mounting drives can be automated, eliminating most of the typing, but since I play one game completely through before beginning another, I do not bother with special configuration files or autoexec lines.

4. The game can be played in either of two display modes, by selecting <d:\ice320.exe> "D:\ICE320" or "D:\ICE640"<d:\ice640.exe>. I use <d:\ice640.exe>"D:\ICE640" to start the game. The first time the game is started, a directory <c:\imotion\ice> will be created, where game configuration files and saved games will be stored. Configure the sound card for sound effects and music before beginning a new game. My sound configuration is set for SB16. Once the game is configured, two files will be seen: ICE.CFG<ice.cfg> and ICE.PCK<ice.pck>.

5. My </ice.pck> file .DOSBOXRC is copied below. My DOSBOX.CONF</ice.cfg> file reads the same. I cannot guarantee that my settings will give equally good performance on other machines, but I would advise keeping cycles=6000, or possibly slightly lower, for "Prisoner of Ice", to avoid compressing the timed sequences too much, which could make the game unbeatable. On my machine, cycles=3000 is too low, and is not recommended. Cycles=4500 seems ideal for sequences where monsters must be killed. Note that I do not use aspect correction or scaling for this game, which would slow performance.

=================================================
START .DOSBOXRC AND DOSBOX.CONF
=================================================
# This is the configuration file for DOSBox 0.72 running "Prisoner of Ice".
# Lines starting with a # are comment lines.
# They are used to (briefly) document the effect of each option.

[sdl]
# fullscreen -- Start dosbox directly in fullscreen.
# fulldouble -- Use double buffering in fullscreen.
# fullresolution -- What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
# windowresolution -- Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
# output -- What to use for output: surface,overlay,opengl,openglnb.
# autolock -- Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen.
# sensitivity -- Mouse sensitivity.
# waitonerror -- Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
# priority -- Priority levels for dosbox: lowest,lower,normal,higher,highest,pause (when not focused).
# Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized.
# mapperfile -- File used to load/save the key/event mappings from.
# usescancodes -- Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=surface
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=/home/myuserID/MAPPER
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
# language -- Select another language file.
# memsize -- Amount of memory DOSBox has in megabytes.
# machine -- The type of machine tries to emulate: hercules,cga,tandy,pcjr,vga.
# captures -- Directory where things like wave,midi,screenshot get captured.

language=
machine=vga
captures=/home/myuserID/msdos/temp/
memsize=64

[render]
# frameskip -- How many frames DOSBox skips before drawing one.
# aspect -- Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
# scaler -- Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
# Supported are none,normal2x,normal3x,advmame2x,advmame3x,hq2x,hq 3x,
# 2xsai,super2xsai,supereagle,advinterp2x,advinterp3 x,
# tv2x,tv3x,rgb2x,rgb3x,scan2x,scan3x.
# If forced is appended (like scaler=hq2x forced), the scaler will be used
# even if the result might not be desired.

frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=none

[cpu]
# core -- CPU Core used in emulation: normal,simple,dynamic,auto.
# auto switches from normal to dynamic if appropriate.
# cycles -- Amount of instructions DOSBox tries to emulate each millisecond.
# Setting this value too high results in sound dropouts and lags.
# You can also let DOSBox guess the correct value by setting it to max.
# The default setting (auto) switches to max if appropriate.
# cycleup -- Amount of cycles to increase/decrease with keycombo.
# cycledown Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.

core=dynamic
cycles=6000
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

[mixer]
# nosound -- Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
# rate -- Mixer sample rate, setting any devices higher than this will
# probably lower their sound quality.
# blocksize -- Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering
# but sound will also be more lagged.
# prebuffer -- How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=22050
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=30

[midi]
# mpu401 -- Type of MPU-401 to emulate: none, uart or intelligent.
# device -- Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
# This can be default,alsa,oss,win32,coreaudio,none.
# config -- Special configuration options for the device. In Windows put
# the id of the device you want to use. See README for details.

mpu401=intelligent
device=oss
config=

[sblaster]
# sbtype -- Type of sblaster to emulate:none,sb1,sb2,sbpro1,sbpro2,sb16.
# sbbase,irq,dma,hdma -- The IO/IRQ/DMA/High DMA address of the soundblaster.
# mixer -- Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the DOSBox mixer.
# oplmode -- Type of OPL emulation: auto,cms,opl2,dualopl2,opl3.
# On auto the mode is determined by sblaster type.
# All OPL modes are 'Adlib', except for CMS.
# oplrate -- Sample rate of OPL music emulation.

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
mixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplrate=22050

[gus]
# gus -- Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
# gusbase,irq1,irq2,dma1,dma2 -- The IO/IRQ/DMA addresses of the
# Gravis Ultrasound. (Same IRQ's and DMA's are OK.)
# gusrate -- Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
# ultradir -- Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
# there should be a MIDI directory that contains
# the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
# with Timidity should work fine.

gus=false
gusrate=22050
gusbase=220
irq1=7
irq2=7
dma1=1
dma2=5
ultradir=/home/myuserID/msdos/ultrasnd/

[speaker]
# pcspeaker -- Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
# pcrate -- Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
# tandy -- Enable Tandy Sound System emulation (off,on,auto).
# For auto Tandysound emulation is present only if machine is set to tandy.
# tandyrate -- Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
# disney -- Enable Disney Sound Source emulation. Covox Voice Master and Speech Thing compatible.

pcspeaker=false
pcrate=22050
tandy=off
tandyrate=22050
disney=false

[joystick]
# joysticktype -- Type of joystick to emulate: auto (default), none,
# 2axis (supports two joysticks,
# 4axis (supports one joystick, first joystick used),
# 4axis_2 (supports one joystick, second joystick used),
# fcs (Thrustmaster), ch (CH Flightstick).
# none disables joystick emulation.
# auto chooses emulation depending on real joystick(s).
# timed -- enable timed intervals for axis. (false is old style behaviour).
# autofire -- continuously fires as long as you keep the button pressed.
# swap34 -- swap the 3rd and the 4th axis. can be useful for certain joysticks.
# buttonwrap -- enable button wrapping at the number of emulated buttons.

joysticktype=none
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=true

[serial]
# serial1-4 -- set type of device connected to com port.
# Can be disabled, dummy, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
# parameter:value. Parameter for all types is irq.
# for directserial: realport (required), rxdelay (optional).
# for modem: listenport (optional).
# for nullmodem: server, rxdelay, txdelay, telnet, usedtr,
# transparent, port, inhsocket (all optional).
# Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
# xms -- Enable XMS support.
# ems -- Enable EMS support.
# umb -- Enable UMB support.
# keyboardlayout -- Language code of the keyboard layout (or none).

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=US

[ipx]
# ipx -- Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=false

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
=================================================
END .DOSBOXRC AND DOSBOX.CONF
=================================================

6. If the game crashes and an error message is displayed just after Captain Lloyd is grabbed by the tentacled monster very early in the game, the drives have not been mounted correctly, or the user does not have permission to write to the directory where saved games are stored. The crash is due to the game's autosave feature failing to locate the savegame directory.

=================================================
My system specifications are as follows:

Compaq Deskpro EN, Pentium III 933 MHz, 256 MB RAM, 20 GB HDD, Nvidia RivaTNT2 AGP Card, 17-inch HP L1720 LCD Monitor, Mandriva Linux 2007.0, DOSBox 0.72
=================================================</c:\imotion\ice></d:\ice640.exe></d:\ice640.exe></d:\ice320.exe></enter></enter></prisoner>