PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Getting Started

peka777
31-05-2007, 09:32 PM
I am new to DOSBox and know very little about computers. I tried following the guide on Abandonia and apparently can't follow anything but the simplest instructions!

First of all, I got DOSBox installed. But the problem is with the games. I downloaded Betrayal at Krondor. The guide says to use Win-something to extract files. I go on My Computer, C Drive, DOS, FILES. When I get here, I have three icons:
1. A folder labeled Betrayal at Krondor
2. A folder with a zipper that's labeled the same as 1
3. An icon that looks like a collection of an open box, cd, and a computer labeled DOSBox0.70-win32-installer.

Selecting #1 brings up 20 symbols

(Labeled: GAMES, DRIVE.CFG- cfg file, GENMIDI-device driver, INSTALL - help file, INSTALL - text document, KRONDOR.CFG - cfg file, KRONDOR - rmf file, README - text document, SNDBLAST - device driver, STD - device driver, TEMP.GAM - gam file, ADL - device driver, FRP.SX - sx file, INSTALL, INSTALL - screen saver, KRONDOR , KRONDOR.001 - 001 file, MT32 - device driver, RESOURCE.CFG - cfg file, STARTUP.GAM - gam file, SX.OVL - ovl file, VMCODE.OVL - ovl file)

Selecting #2 brings up 22 symbols.

(Labeled: GAMES, ADL, DRIVE.CFG, FRP.SX, GENMIDI, INSTALL, INSTALL, INSTALL, KRONDOR, KRONDOR, KRONDOR, KRONDOR, MT32, README, RESOURCE, STARTUP.GAM, STD, SX.OVL, TEMP.GAM, VMCODE.OVL)

In the left had margin under folder tasks is "Extract all files"

Selecting #3 brings up run or cancel. If I select run, it displays the license agreement, agreeing brings me to beginning the installation (but I have already installed it and it is on my start menu--I did all the things described in Abandonia's guide)